The Francis Report and UK NMC

The Francis Report and UK NMC (6 C’s)


The Francis Report, published in 2013, investigated serious failings in care at Mid Staffordshire NHS Foundation Trust between 2005 and 2009. It highlighted numerous issues, including poor nursing care, high mortality rates, and a culture that silenced whistleblowers. The report’s recommendations have significantly impacted the UK’s healthcare system, including the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC).

Here’s how the Francis Report relates to the NMC:

Impact on the NMC:
  • Focus on accountability: The report emphasized the need for individual nurses to be accountable for their actions. The NMC responded by strengthening its regulatory framework, and introducing tougher sanctions for misconduct and negligence.
  • Prioritizing patient safety: The report highlighted the importance of patient safety as a core principle of nursing practice. The NMC incorporated this into its Code of Conduct and Standards for Practice, emphasizing nurses’ responsibility to prioritize patient safety above all else.
  • Promoting patient-centered care: The report stressed the importance of listening to patients and involving them in their care decisions. The NMC adopted these principles, requiring nurses to demonstrate respect for patients’ autonomy, preferences, and dignity.
  • Championing compassionate care: The report advocated for compassionate and caring interactions between nurses and patients. The NMC incorporated this into its Standards for Practice, emphasizing the importance of compassion, empathy, and relationship-building in nursing care.
  • Implementing the 6 C’s: The report introduced the 6 C’s of good nursing practice: Care, Compassion, Commitment, Courage, Competence, and Communication. The NMC adopted these principles as core values for nurses, requiring them to demonstrate them in their practice.
Specific NMC actions:
  • New standards for pre-registration nursing education: The NMC implemented new standards for nursing education programs, ensuring they embed the lessons from the Francis Report and the 6 C’s.
  • Enhanced Fitness to Practice process: The NMC strengthened its Fitness to Practice process to ensure it can effectively investigate and address concerns about nurses’ conduct and performance.
  • Greater emphasis on open communication: The NMC encouraged nurses to raise concerns about poor practice and created mechanisms for safe and confidential whistleblowing.

Overall, the Francis Report has had a significant impact on the NMC and the wider UK healthcare system. By emphasizing accountability, patient safety, patient-centered care, compassionate care, and the 6 C’s, the NMC aims to ensure that nurses deliver high-quality, ethical, and compassionate care to all patients.

Note: This is a brief overview. For further details, you can explore the NMC’s website and resources related to the Francis Report implementation.


6 C’s

The 6 C’s you mentioned are fundamental values upheld by the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC) in the UK. They guide the professional conduct and practice of nurses, midwives, and nursing associates, ensuring they deliver high-quality care while adhering to ethical principles.

Here’s a breakdown of each C and its significance:

  1. Care:
  • This encompasses prioritizing the well-being, safety, and dignity of patients above all else.
  • It involves demonstrating empathy, understanding, and sensitivity to individual needs and preferences.
  • Delivering care goes beyond physical needs and includes emotional and psychological support.
  1. Compassion:
  • This refers to the ability to show genuine concern and understanding for the suffering and challenges patients face.
  • It involves going the extra mile to alleviate their discomfort and distress, offering emotional support and comfort.
  • Compassionate nurses and midwives build trusting relationships with patients, fostering healing and recovery.
  1. Commitment:
  • This highlights the dedication and responsibility nurses and midwives have towards their patients and profession.
  • It involves staying committed to upholding professional standards, even under challenging circumstances.
  • Commitment also means taking ownership of one’s actions and continuously seeking improvement.
  1. Courage:
  • This refers to the ability to act ethically and advocate for patients, even when it’s difficult or unpopular.
  • It involves speaking up against unsafe practices, reporting concerns, and challenging the status quo when necessary.
  • Courageous nurses and midwives ensure patient safety and promote positive change within the healthcare system.
  1. Competence:
  • This emphasizes the importance of possessing the knowledge, skills, and experience required to deliver safe and effective care.
  • It involves keeping up-to-date with evidence-based practice and continuously seeking professional development opportunities.
  • Competence ensures nurses and midwives can make sound clinical judgments and provide high-quality care.
  1. Communication:
  • This refers to the ability to effectively communicate with patients, colleagues, and other healthcare professionals.
  • It involves active listening, clear and concise information sharing, and adapting communication styles to different audiences.
  • Effective communication builds trust, reduces errors, and fosters collaboration within the healthcare team.

By upholding these 6 C’s, nurses, midwives, and nursing associates in the UK contribute to a safe, ethical, and compassionate healthcare environment for their patients.

Please remember that this is just a general overview, and the specific interpretation and application of these values may vary depending on the specific context and situation.


error: Content is protected !!